"THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE HOME" Most common line we heard when we ment back to our home town
I proudly made this site to highlight and uncover the beauty of Cagayancillo, where you can dicover and experience on amazing tourist attraction, delecious delicacies, unforgetable history and over-welmig people.
The island was known to the first Spanish settlers in the Archipelago simply as Cagayan. They describe this territory as "two low islets about fifteen leagues from the island of Panay". They ruled these islets from the town of Arevalo in Iloilo by sailing south-southeast from this part of Panay, to the open sea. The islands are surrounded by many low reefs. But the Spaniards were able to discover their narrow entry, avoiding the great danger that awaited ships. During the early period of Spanish colonizations, these small islets were inhabited by four hundred people, all of whom were very skillful shipbuilders. They were from Panay, and they came to these islets in order to fortify themselves by the reefs, for fear of pirates. Then they undertook to return to Panay in order to dwell there. But many of their women died there. Seeing this, as they were soothsayers, they returned to the islands of Cagayan, from where they set out every year, and scattered themselves over all the islands to build ships. They built the ships of the Spanish Royal Navy in the Philippines, as well as galleys, galliots, and frigates. They also helped in repairing and righting ships. Being the most important people in the islands for the Spaniards, the adelantado Miguel López de Legazpi allotted their islands to the encomenderos of Negros Island. Afterwards, the colonizers found it best to put them under the direct control of the Spanish Crown. Thus, it was governed from the town of Arevalo in Iloilo. Historically, the islands also became part of Antique Province. It was made into a municipality in 1810, with Omabong as its first mayor. During the American regime, it came under the jurisdiction of Negros Occidental. In 1959, the following sitios were constituted into barrios of Cagayan:
Cagayancillo has a total of 8 public elementary schools with a total of 37 classrooms. A total of 35 teachers are available in school year 2000–2001 for total enrollees of 1,110. This provides an average classroom - pupil ratio and teacher - pupil ratio 1:39. This ratio is above the national standard of 1:50 classroom - pupil and teacher- pupil ratios. Enrollment participation rate is estimated at 85.03% for school year 2000–2001. In secondary education, the municipality has one (1) national high school located in the Poblacion. There were 9 classrooms and 13 secondary school teachers giving an average ratio of 1:52 classroom -student ratio. Secondary school participation rate was low at 69%
Cagayancillo Fort is one of the surviving defense forts in Palawan built during the Spanish Colonial Period. Work on the fort was started in the late 16th century by Father Nicolas Melo and Father Alonso Colosa, but it was not completed till the early 18th century by Father Hipolito Casiano, spanning almost 130 years. The 162-sq. meter (1,740-sq. foot) diamond-shaped fort was built on the coast on a high point on the island and made from sea rocks mixed with lime. Like some of the other Spanish forts in this area, inside is a church surrounded by its massive 12 metres (39 ft) high and 3 metres (9.8 ft) thick walls, providing a safe place for the residents during marauding pirate attacks. The other Spanish Colonial fortifications in Palawan are Fort Santa Isabel in Taytay and Cuyo Fort in Cuyo.
KAMANTAYAN SAND BAR
Cagayancillo Church Fort
NAME: Riza P. Condesa
ADDRESS: BRGY. TALAGA, CAGAYANCILLO PALAWAN
DATE BIRTH: DECEMBER 20, 1999
Present Studying in PALAWAN STATE UNIVERSITY
PROGRAM: BS INFORMATION TECHNOLOGGY